EASTERN STANDARD, BOSTON, MA – My Last Bite!

My good friend Matt had invited me to the Celtics – Bulls game (Celtics won!) and we decided to meet at The Eastern Standard for a meal before the game.

The Eastern Standard is a really fancy restaurant.  It’s always packed and right next to the Foundation Lounge and The Great Bay.  I think it’s one of the Triumvirate of established high-end hospitality/restaurant businesses on that block.

However, I have to say that both our meals didn’t meet our expectations.  I had the sole and Matt had the steak frites.  Steak was good, mushrooms were cold, and the fries were good because of the rosemary.  I don’t know if the mushrooms were meant to be cold, but mushrooms are so important to the flavor mesh with the steak.  From my end, the risotto with my sole dish was sehr (German for “very”) undercooked and the combined taste wasn’t too flavorful.

Now, The Eastern Standard is a contemporary restaurant and thus pricey…and being high-priced for something that didn’t fill me up nor satisfy my taste buds is not going to jive with me.  Perhaps, if we were there for a beer…my review would be different.  As far as I’m concerned with MyFirstBite.com, I’m done and will never see me there.

And thank you to the waitress who I think realized we weren’t too happy and comped us with a free dessert.

Check out Matt’s Review on his Steak:

Sole with Pumpkin Risotto - Special of the Day

Sole with Pumpkin Risotto - Special of the Day

Hanger Steak Frites

Hanger Steak Frites

~ by myfirstbitefoodreview on March 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “EASTERN STANDARD, BOSTON, MA – My Last Bite!”

  1. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    • Thanks! Not sure if you are in Boston and have your own thoughts on Eastern Standard.
      It’s tough to stomach such little food with a high price tag.

Leave a comment